In the spirit of sharing information and best practice within our own community, Huhtamaki Gosport approached a number of local junior and infant schools to offer pupils to enter a competition to design a poster celebrating the World Day for Safety. Gomer Junior are delighted to have won this competition!

There were two competitions, one which was open to pupils in Year 3 and Year 4 and the second was open to pupils in Year 5 and 6. The children were asked to design a poster on the subject of either ‘Accident Prevention’ or ‘Fire Prevention’ and were encouraged to be as creative in their approach as possible. This resulted in some really fabulous, colourful and high-impact posters.

The competition winners (detailed below) were chosen by Councillor Mark Hook, the Mayor of Gosport on Wednesday 27th of April, with voucher prizes awarded to the top three winners in each competition. Additionally, we were presented with a prize of £2,500 by Huhtamaki Gosport for us to spend on a project of our choice – watch this space.

Kerry Venn, Operations Manager at Huhtamaki Gosport said “We are absolutely delighted with both the quality and quantity of the entries we have received for the competition and the Mayor of Gosport was also extremely impressed by the standard of the posters that he judged. It is clear that our local children have a brilliant grasp of the importance of a positive health and safety culture and we are delighted to do what we can at Huhtamaki to encourage this. Our thanks to everyone who entered the competition and our congratulations to the winning pupils and schools.”

We were delighted that Mr Venn led our assembly yesterday to present the prizes to the children in person. We also learnt about his role at Huhtamaki and exactly what the company does. As STEM enthusiasts we really enjoyed learning about this.

We are delighted to share our winning entries:

Years 3 & 4 (pictured below)

Harry Pond – First (£100)

Amelie Cranmer – Second (£50)

Rupert Watson – Third (£25)

Years 5 & 6 (pictured below)

Sophia Digby – First (£100)

Anastacia Oparah – Second (£50)

Jessica Cox – Third (£25)

5th May 2022
Category: Uncategorised